Let me begin by expressing my sincere appreciation to the leadership and members of our great party, The Wiper Democratic Party, my fellow Leaders, and to you, the good people of the land of honour, Masinga Constituency for the profound honour you have extended to me with your Faith and Trust into voting me into office, I salute you all, am humbled

This is not an honour that I take lightly at all. It is a humbling recognition of our stewardship of the destiny of Masinga. It is appreciative of how far we have come in the course of our journey and fully cognizant of, yet undaunted by, how far we have to go on the road ahead of us. Your vote of confidence in my administration is a resounding affirmation of the justice of our course and the rightness of our path.

For me personally, your mandate has caused me to reflect on my own life’s journey; a journey that we have shared in the last one year. I have had cause to reflect upon the values instilled in me by my upbringing and by my faith. I was raised to understand that the life well lived is a continuum of service; service to God and service to humanity. Indeed, my mentors and parents impressed upon me that service to God is demonstrated by serving others, positively impacting the people around us, and demonstrating a fierce resolve to leave people better than they were when they first met you. Leadership itself is merely the opportunity to serve and power is a God-given resource with which we are meant to change lives for the better. With great power comes an even greater responsibility to serve.

I went into politics because I believe that committed purpose-driven servant-leadership can provide people with the tools that will empower them and give them control over their own destinies. Public office is too serious to be left to swindlers and when men and women of good conscience that are committed to the ideals of social justice and the common good turn away from politics, we pave way for unprincipled opportunists to take power. The argument for progressive political engagement is perhaps best summed up in the famous words of Edmund Burke: “All that is necessary for evil to triumph is that good men do nothing.”

These are the ideals that led me into politics and which I tabled before you, the good people of Kivaa Ward, when I sought the opportunity to serve you. They are the values I pledged to uphold when you graciously bestowed upon me the honour of serving you. And you extended to us this privilege because you recognized that the values we were espousing were also your own; that our hearts and minds were knit together by a shared vision of what Masinga could become in our lifetime. Today, I stand before you to declare that I have kept faith with our values as you have kept faith with me. In office and out of office, my commitment to serve is unyielding.

When we came into office, we discovered that our biggest challenge was gaining the people’s trust. Years of unhappy encounters had calcified considerable cynicism about government and a general distrust of leadership had set in. The distrust was understandable. A citizenry serially molested by those they had trusted previously had grown weary and cynical about politicians who seem to make promises and promptly renege on them as soon as they get into office. But I urge, I plead with you the people of Kivaa ward, to give me your Trust, have Faith in my abilities to lead you, and lets work and unite in realizing the pledges I made before you elected me.

If we operate with a microwave mentality—always expecting instant results—then we will give up on our goals far too soon. When it comes to potential, there are things we work for, and there are things we wait for. It’s a colossal mistake to wait for something you haven’t worked for! Reaching our potential happens neither immediately nor automatically. Diligent effort, over time, is the most reliable recipe for success. What am saying, simply am urging you as the residents of our beloved Kivaa Ward, to give the projects time, the completion phase.

Many people / communists, spend time whining about their leader (s) rather than thinking and suggesting of ways on what they expect from the said leader (s), and how they expect services to be delivered. Indeed, in a typical community, there are far more problem spotters than problem solvers. People are quick to complain about problems and slow to propose creative ways to fix them. Make it your personal policy not to bring up a problem without offering at least one suggestion for solving it that involves action on your part, make yourselves part of the solution, not the problem spotter.

If I had to identify the No. 1 misconception people have about leadership, it would be the belief that leadership comes from having a position or title. This position myth, that you can’t lead if you’re not at the top, couldn’t be further than the truth. The erroneous thinking of this myth is that leadership is position, not influence, and that where we go wrong. WHAT MATTERS is not the position, but you as an individual, You can be of huge influence and importance wherever you are, that’s what I will need from you people, to be part of Masinga leadership

LEADER-RESIDENT RELATIONSHIP

